The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Richard Being Armitage

on June 29, 2015

Richard Armitage “came into my life” at a time when I was sure I didn’t want to try to set another place at my fandom table. Disappointment, disillusionment, and personal growth had already caused so many of the seats to be vacant. Those who come to my table and stay are those who sincerely inspire me and, sadly, the massive table I had once filled with those who had garnered my admiration had been dwindled down to two. And I was certain I didn’t want to make it three.

Until…

Gandalf opened Bilbo’s door and I met Thorin Oakenshield. I had met Thorin in my youth while reading The Hobbit, but the Thorin before me was not the one I’d read about.

He was in profile at the moment the door was opened, and a quarter turn of his head found me face to face with eyes so intensely fathomless that I was drowning before I could question matters any further. This is what I like to call becoming an “instant fan.” In one billionth of a millisecond I went from relaxing in my theater seat to him having my full attention. There was something wonderfully magnetic about him and I found myself caring about Thorin on a level Tolkien didn’t inspire. By the end of The Unexpected Journey, I was completely in love with Thorin, and asking myself: Who is this guy?!

At home, I researched Richard Armitage and began discovering the true depth of his talent, his devotion to his craft, his appreciation for his fans, his humor, his intelligence, his kindness, his humble nature, and so much more.

It took some patience and effort for me to gather and see most of his work (a lot of his work is not available for order in America). But, it was a labor of love and worth every effort. I do not believe there’s been a single performance I’ve seen that didn’t blow me away. And with the exception of “Boon,” and “This Year’s Love,” I have seen it all! And, like any other true fan, I anxiously await his work yet to be released.

When he joined Twitter in August 2014, I followed and found myself in the midst of a fandom seemingly larger than the universe. And while it is true that there have been some clashes here and there, overall, I find the fandom respectful, protective, and devoted. I’m proud to be among them.

Over the past year and (nearly) 4 months, I have met some incredible people. Some have remained my acquaintances, some have become my friends, and some have become my family. These amazing and beautiful women have touched my life in positive ways. They have shared their lives and stories with me; I with them, and we share a love for a man that is based in respect for him and each other.

In my circle of acquaintances, friends, and family, we all agree that Richard Armitage is perfect in many ways, but we wondered how best to say it. “Perfect” seemed too banal. And somehow not enough. So, why not allow something that’s uniquely him be his descriptor? ARMITAGE. When he is perfect, he is simply being himself. Richard Being Armitage.

When he became an ambassador for Cybersmile in June 2015, none of us was surprised. When he revealed some of his past in which he experienced bullying, we all felt his pain. When he advocated kindness in cyberspace, we all jumped on his bandwagon. We’re with him in our support. When Iain Alexander touted Richard’s blog about cyberbullying to be unique and epic, our first thought upon reading it was: unique and epic? Maybe, if it was coming from someone else. But, to us, it’s simply a matter of #RichardBeingArmitage.

I am a more complete person with my sisters in my life. I am a happier person. I love them and cannot imagine my life without them. I sincerely hope I bring the same to them. I know for certain I never would have met them were it not for Richard.

Richard Armitage was the magnet which drew us all to him and the bridge by which we all found each other. I thank him. He has enriched my life simply by being who he is. And that makes him Armitage in my book everyday. Thank you, Richard, for being Armitage. I don’t think I could say it any better than that. 

 

24 responses to “Richard Being Armitage

  1. Servetus says:

    Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    Another new entry into the Armitage blogosphere!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jollytr says:

    Except for ‘meeting’ Richard a little differently, you took the words right out of my mouth. Thank you for expressing this so well and I love “Richard Being Armitage”. Perfect πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Helen says:

    Yes! You’ve hit the nail on the head. One of the best things about the Armitage fandom is that it has helped so many of us to meet – whether virtually or physically – some great people! I really hope I never fall out of love πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Miss T. says:

    Reblogged this on The Apron Stage and commented:
    Interesting text on Richard Armitage and fandom. I like the underlining idea of the aspects of being oneself and how to categorize it. Very interesting. Some names were misspelled, but no harm done or meant there πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. LAURA says:

    BUFFY BROUGHT TEARS TO MY EYES LOVED IT

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Perry says:

    Always happy to find a new Armitage blog. I look forward to hearing more from you. I know that task of accumulating the older works. Great effort on your part, to succeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Perry says:

    Reblogged this on Armitage Agonistes and commented:
    An New addition to the Armitage blogging community. Found first by Servetus.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Candida Tormora Orta says:

    I literally started crying physically crying, while reading this. It was beautifully, wonderfully written. I think him every day for bringing the sisters together, I cannot see my life without any of you. Our love or respect for him only matches the love and respect I have for all of you. All I can say is thank you to him for bringing us together, and thanks for my sisters for love and respect for each other.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You touched my soul and expressed in words what I feel inside. Oh, that door that Gandalf opened .. after that, I’ve never more been the same! Pretty words, darling..

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Maxine Vurley says:

    Darling Buffy, this made me fill up with tears, it’s beautiful, and describes perfectly how we all feel about Mr Armitage, and as one of your Sisters how we all Love & respect each other, I am so honoured to be part of this amazing family, so a special thanks to Mr Richard Armitage.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Vera says:

    I can only say what you said reminded me how loved I am. A mutual respect and admiration for Richard bought us all together and I do love you sis

    Your Viking sister

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ju1esH says:

    That was gorgeous Buffy! Really proud of you. Well put and many of my thoughts exactly

    Liked by 1 person

  13. snowyjo says:

    Bravo, Buffy. You are right. Thanks to Richard, we’ve found sisters and friends around the world. We’ve commiserated with them over the death of a loved one or given them virtual hugs when they were gravely ill. We’ve even suffered our first death of a good and well-liked friend. And now we’ve had coffee exchanges and more. We all adore Richard and his characters, but it’s the women as much as Richard who keep us in his fandom.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. gegecerdeira says:

    oh goodness – you brought tears to my eyes my friend…you wrote exactly everything is in my heart – thank you VERY MUCH

    Liked by 1 person

  15. […] endeavors now and into the future. Everyday, I’ve used a hashtag to “say it all.” #RichardBeingArmitage will always be a hashtagΒ that means something wonderful to me. Click here to see why. Love […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

