The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

The Armitage Archangels

on July 1, 2015

After the overwhelming response to my blog “Richard Being Armitage,” I thought today I would talk about the angels Richard led me to by simply being Armitage.

I’ve always been a bit on the fence between being an introvert and an extrovert.  While I lean more toward being an introvert, I can easily maneuver my way through a crowd of extroverts.  I represent a happy medium between the two and the lasting friendships I have had are a lovely mix of variant personalities that flow across the introvert/extrovert spectrum; some wholly (and inexorably) introverted, some wholly (and uncontrollably) extroverted, and some smack dab in the middle with me.  Being in the middle is where I like to be.  I learn more from this vantage point than I would if I was anywhere else along the spectrum.  I get to see it all from here and I wouldn’t change that.

I was asked today what I would do if suddenly Mr. Armitage were standing before me. I gave a quick (and probably expected) response, to which one of my online angel sisters quickly rebutted.  The truth is, I would probably allow the happy medium between introverted and extroverted to exist.  I would smile, be polite, and enter into casual conversation with him as I really believe he would put me at ease with his personality, charm, and kind demeanor.  But, I also wondered what would happen if I let myself slide along the spectrum a bit one way or the other.

I began laughing at the scenarios that played before my mind’s eye.  My introverted self would no doubt reduce my vocal cords to a small mousy “squeeee” in my throat while my brain froze and fogged over and my cheeks went all red with embarrassment.  She would have no idea what to say to him. She would be hiding in a corner somewhere while my extroverted self stood screaming at her to get off her bum, out of her shell, and talk to the man already!  On the other hand, my extroverted self would launch herself from her chair and throw her arms around him, which would undoubtedly cause him to call out for security. Thinking of myself being dragged along in handcuffs made me laugh until tears threatened.  She would undoubtedly feel a great sense of accomplishment at giving in to the overwhelming surge of hormones that he inspires, even if it ended in her arrest!  This all while my introverted self huddled in a corner, eyes closed, and whispering, “You’re gonna get us in trouble!”  Apparently, I must keep my extroverted self on a tight leash.  Noted. Check!

That being said, I really know myself and know where I should be at all times in my personality.  I could talk to him.  Would want to, in fact.  I find him extremely interesting.

But back to the angels….

Whilst planning to tutor one of my students in advanced math today, I found myself thinking about simple math. Every math starts in simple math and I started thinking about the closest distance between two points.  It’s a straight line, of course.  That got me thinking about the lines we draw between ourselves and our friends. And I thought: the closest distance between two friends isn’t a line, straight or otherwise.  It’s the heart they place between them.  A little heart between them will create a great distance between them, the edges of the heart too small to bridge the distance.  And, they will always be speaking across a chasm, even if they’re in the same room.  But, a big heart would bridge the distance so that there is but a little space between them. And, even if they’re a world apart, they are near.

The angels I have come to know and love share a big heart with me.  We are from all parts of the world, all different cultures, all different backgrounds, all different ages.  And we are as near in our caring for each other as if we were in the same room, sharing a hug.  There really aren’t any words which will do justice to how grateful I am to have them in my life or how special they make me feel because they are my sisters.  Each of us is a warrior, a fighter, and a survivor.  On Twitter, we are the Armitage Archangels. The 8 of us are as close as sisters can be. And the big heart between us grows ever bigger as we open our arms to those around us.  Thank you, my Angel Sisters.  The closest distance between us is the big heart which contains these words:  I Love You! 

 

7 responses to “The Armitage Archangels

  1. Candida Tormora Orta says:

    Well first of all I think I got a very vivid visual of what would happen if Richard Armitage was to walk into your office, LOL. But on the serious note, is the highest honor for me to be your elder sister, I will well first of all I think I got a very vivid visual of what would happen if Richard Armitage was to walk into your office, LOL. But on the serious note, is the highest honor for me to be your elder sister always Love, honor, respect and protect you to the best of my ability. I’ll always have your back. Love you my wonderful beautiful most phenomenal sister a person could ever have. Candida

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Vera says:

    You truly have touched my heart. You my lady have a gentle beautif soul. I love you

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Maxine Vurley says:

    Buffy, you are an amazing kind and generous lady with a huge huge heart. You make me laugh, you make me cry (in a good way) and I can’t wait for the day when I can give you a hug for real. I’m so honoured to be one of your Sisters. Love you X

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ju1esH says:

    Well I’m catching up. I just want to say how much I love your blog and knowing you, your support and encouragement

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

