The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Richard Armitage: A Fandom Blessed

on July 5, 2015

As I sat on my couch this weekend, thoroughly enjoying The Hobbit Trilogy (again), and falling completely in love with Thorin Oakenshield (again), the sheer overwhelming level of talent that Richard Armitage possesses struck me dead center in the heart (again). Not only do I never grow tired of these films, I also never grow tired of falling in love with Thorin, taking the journey with him, or crying my eyes out at the end.

I have seen all of his work (except for 3 of his earliest series) and, while each character affects me differently, I always seem to find myself caught in a maelstrom of sometimes peaceful (The Vicar of Dibley),  sometimes fierce (The Crucible) emotion. He twirls me around the dance floor of my imagination where the floor isn’t always nailed down tight. The floor tilts and rolls in waves under my feet and I know that it’s because he’s leading the dance that I don’t fall and break my neck.

But I do get the full effect of the ride, and that takes pure talent mixed with the care and consideration of a man who wants to keep me on my toes but doesn’t want to hurt my feet.

In the scheme of things, I haven’t been a fan for very long, and when I consider that some have followed his career for 10 years or more, my 3 years seems pretty puny. But it feels like a lifetime. My brain can remember a time when I didn’t know who he was, but my heart cannot. It’s my heart I listen to most of the time anyway.

Whether you’ve been a fan for a decade or more, a few years, a few months, or even just a day, Mr. Armitage remains worthy of our being a fan. And he proves it by being so much more than just a great actor. His kind and humble nature, his intelligence, his true appreciation for his fans, his dedication to his craft, his spotlighting the behind-the-scenes folks who make his job easier, and his endearing approach to and use of social media make me proud to be a member of his fandom. And while these are but a few of the seemingly infinite list of attributes to describe him, I, for one, think this fandom blessed to have him.

#RichardBeingArmitage! It’s not an exaggeration! 😊 

 

7 responses to “Richard Armitage: A Fandom Blessed

  1. eli says:

    its great what u wrote just he should be honest with his fandom comming out of the closet!

    Like

    • Perhaps he hasn’t “come out of the closet” because he’s not gay. But, if he is, would it make a difference to you in being his fan? Would it make him less talented or less moving a person? Honestly, I don’t think we have the right to know. It shouldn’t matter to us. It’s really none of our business. 😊

      Liked by 2 people

  2. eli says:

    its great what u wrote just he should be honest with his fandom comming out of the closet!!! regards

    Like

    • Perhaps he hasn’t “come out of the closet” because he’s not gay. But, if he is, would it make a difference to you in being his fan? Would it make him less talented or less moving a person? Honestly, I don’t think we have the right to know. It shouldn’t matter to us. It’s really none of our business. 😊

      Like

  3. sarah says:

    he has “something” with lee pace but as buffy said isnot of our business.

    Like

  4. Ju1esH says:

    Your blog post was beautifully accurate. Richard’s work touches me as deeply as great works of art, meditation and spiritual reading do. He has a unique gift for deeply plumbing the depths of a character in a way that opens the charcter to the viewer very much like dissection in anatomy/physiology. I have never before seen this in an actor, and I doubt I ever will again. You mention his humility, compassion, honesty, integrity and kindness. These qualities are what drive his extraordinary ability to portray and dig into his charcters in a way that goes beyond that of other actors. And also why I don’t follow other celebrities. Is he perfect? Absolutely not. None of us are. He’s also finding a voice that encourages the abovementioned qualities in his sphere of influence while maintaining a private life. A very difficult and admirable thing to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

