The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

My Rhyme and My Reason

on July 20, 2015

I am a writer. I am a poet. A published one. Unless I count the professor of Literature from Syracuse University who recognized my name at a book signing (not mine), I’m not a famous one. I don’t make writing my career…yet. Someday I will. For now, I am a school administrator and math and literature tutor.

I have written hundreds of poems, books of stories, and several novels. The poems have won contests; I’ve been published in poetry anthologies in 18 different languages. But this was all nearly two decades ago.

For a long time, I didn’t write much of anything. A few poems, one story, and while I knew what blogging was, I had no idea how (and no desire) to go about it.

In 1998, when my brother died, I wrote some of the most depressing poetry one might imagine and had my grief therapist seen it, he might have committed me. And, when I had written out my grief (it took me 2 years), I stopped writing everyday. I didn’t see the point anymore. I didn’t see how important it was to me.

Ten years passed. In those 10 years, I might have written 10 poems and started (not finished) one story. On my birthday in 2010, I thought to write something. A poem. A story. Anything creative from within myself. And nothing came to me. Nothing inspired me. I tried forcing a subject upon myself. Still nothing. Had I lost what I loved? I was scared. I was heartbroken. If I had lost my ability to write, I would remain living only the half-life I had consigned myself to a decade before. So I tried.

Two years passed. My inspiration had shrunk to a small dot on an otherwise dark theater screen. And I was as close to giving up what I loved forever as I was when I’d written out my grief.

Then…

Gandalf opened Bilbo’s door and I met Thorin Oakenshield. If you read my blog “Richard Being Armitage,” you know the story. And this is the rest of the story. That night, I wrote a poem for Thorin. It was clunky and probably the worst poem I’d written since I was 12 years old, but it was something, and it had come from within me. So I kept trying.

Two years passed. I tried to get back into my routine of writing something everyday. At first, what I wrote was terrible. I was a new writer once again, stumbling my way through phrases and rhymes that deserved a more graceful pen.

In August of last year, Richard Armitage joined Twitter. Following him led me to a group of people who, along with Richard, inspire me everyday. I was so surprised at how much I was inspired. I picked up my pen and opened my heart.

I am a writer again. A poet. Because of them and because of that part of me that didn’t give up. I can never thank them enough. Writing is as important to me as breathing.
Because of Richard, I met my sisters. Because of them, I could write this. Thank you.

MY SISTERS

It is never too late to be what you might have been, George Eliot assuredly implied; Be true to your work, your word, and your friend, Emerson: the base of a good life.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens; That song stays in my head; Never take for granted that which we are given; It could be taken from us instead.

Cling on to hope and be true to your heart, Do not let one day go by Without saying I love you ere you depart, For life’s done in the blink of an eye.

So I’ll say to my sisters, I love you – I need you, And I’ll always hold you dear; And I’ll treasure you where’er life leads you; While I am here.

–Buffy Brinkley

Then, last December, I rewrote my poem for Thorin:

I have written every day since. What I feared I’d lost, I found in the encouragement of people I’d just met. I found my voice. I found the heart of myself again, and it still beats the rhythm of a poet. Writing. It is my rhyme and my reason. 😊 

 

6 responses to “My Rhyme and My Reason

  1. jholland says:

    It’s a beautiful poem, and so fitting. Thank you for sharing. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Servetus says:

    So glad this happened for you, too! — Richard Armitage has inspired so many of us to resume writing or write for the first time. It’s probably my favorite thing about the fandom — the way he has inspired us creatively, each author in her own particularway. You might be interested in / want to get in touch with these ladies, who try to keep track of these stories and the writing that Armitage-inspired authors are doing: https://armitageauthors.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. Carol says:

    I am so very glad to have found someone who can totally understand how I feel about Richard Armitage. Like you, I was SMITTEN when Gandolf opened Bilbo’s front door to Thorin Oakenshield, and after watching the movie completely enamored of him, I remember asking myself, “Who IS this man?” That’s how I discovered the wonderfully talented Mr. Armitage. After watching countless YouTube videos, I believe him to be not only a fantastic actor, but also a very decent, intelligent man. He is in my thoughts a LOT!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind response. I’m happy you enjoyed reading my blog. It’s always nice to meet a kindred spirit. Mr. Armitage is an amazing and beautiful man. It’s an honor to write about him.

      Like

Leave a Reply

