The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Recurring Dream

on October 1, 2015

I’ve been having this dream every night for the last couple of weeks:

I was cold.  I was shivering. The wind blew blades of icy kisses upon me. I was exposed to the elements.  Outside.  On some outcropping of mountain; high up somewhere above the tree-line.  I could not remember where I had been before that moment, could not discern how I had gotten there or why I would want to be in so desolate and wintry a place.

I was nowhere and then I felt the wind. I knew I should have had more clothes on. My thin sleep pants and shirt were no protection against the unforgiving weather. I pulled my knees to my chest, tucked my arms and hands close to my body, but I knew there was no saving my bare feet.  I took in breath and watched jagged ribbons float outward as I exhaled.  I was going to die here. I could feel the ice starting to form in my hair and on the micro hairs on my face and arms. I thought of my friends, my family, my cat.  I thought about what it would be like when hypothermia started to settle in. It would hurt, and then it wouldn’t, and then I would be dead. And then maybe I would be reunited with my late brother.  That thought gave me comfort. But, did I want to be resigned to death? I knew I didn’t want to die. Not yet, anyway. And, with that thought, I heard the first sounds behind me.

Grinding sounds, like rock moving against rock. I felt, rather than saw, a door swing inward, and, daring to look back, I saw a figure approaching. A large figure of a man with gleaming golden armor and a fur-lined cloak about him. Tall, handsome, and majestic he stood over me, his long hair caught in the wind, his beard beginning to collect small particles of ice.  His striking blue eyes kind as he assessed my situation. He smiled, and then began to remove his armor.  He laid the armor on the ground away from where he stood, and by removing it, exposed soft, woolen clothing beneath.  He knelt and then positioned himself in front of me, pulled me to his chest and wrapped his arms and the cloak about me. Cocooned in his warmth, my body relaxed. My feet, which had begun to sting at the first signs of hypothermia, began to defrost.  I pressed my hands to his chest, leaned my head forward and snuggled against him.  His heart beat against my ear, a heroic cadence, and I breathed him in.  The wind whipped around us, his cloak an impenetrable shield to its power. I moved my hands and wrapped my arms around him, pulling myself closer to him and eliminating whatever space there was between us. He held me more tightly, his approval of my move. He leaned his head down to mine and I could feel his breath on my hair, his beard on my temple, his long hair curtaining my face.

I moved my right hand back to his chest and willed it upward to touch his face.  He leaned back slightly so I could touch him. His eyes remained kind, his smile somehow knowing my desire.  I turned my face up to fully look upon his magnificence. I moved my body upward, my face getting closer to his as he leaned his head down to capture my lips with his own. His lips commanded mine like a conductor to a symphony orchestra and I played to his tune, in harmony with his music. I was a cello held close, his bow drawing across my strings, his fingers vibrating out of me the melody he wanted me to play. My arms went about his neck, my hands nested in his hair, and our song melted the snow around us.

The kiss spent, I settled my head back to his chest, as I wrapped my arms around him once more.  “Who are you?” I asked. “Where did you come from?”

“Thorin,” he replied into my ear, as his long hair curtained my face again. “I have come from the mountain to find you.”

And, then I wake up…

I think I’ve been watching the Hobbit trilogy too much.  Is there such a thing as “Too Much Hobbit Trilogy,” though?  ;D

  

7 responses to “Recurring Dream

  1. gpg442014 says:

    that so beautiful ,hey what a dream ,mine is different but i so hate waking up x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Servetus says:

    No. Not with the EE showings starting on Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jholland says:

    Oooh, love this dream. *jealous* And beautifully written!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Guylty says:

    That is poetic, it almost reads like a poem. What a beautiful dream! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

