The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

A Meeting of Angels

on December 8, 2015

This past Friday evening, I hopped in my car, picked up a friend of mine (one I kidnapped with her husband’s permission), and made my way to Florida from Louisiana. The drive was beautiful; the conversation, as always, fun. There’s nothing like traveling with one of your best friends, especially one who’s recently gotten married and you haven’t seen her for a while.

Halfway there, we stopped for the night in Fairhope, Alabama.  If you haven’t seen Fairhope, Alabama, it’s one of those towns you should put on your bucket list.  An eclectic array of mom-and-pop shops nestled in a sort of circular panoramic road map of nature’s beauty. It’s the cleanest city I’ve ever visited, the people are nice, and even the lowest-starred hotel is made nice by its cleanliness and helpful staff.

On Saturday morning, we got an early start on the 7 hours it would take for us to arrive in Tampa.  I was on a single mission:  meet my Archangel Sister, Candida Orta. I had my small suitcase, my pillow (because I cannot sleep without it!) and a backseat filled with tins of dozens of cookies for my sister. Pecan Pie Cookies, Oatmeal Cranberry Walnut Cookies, Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies, Spiced Apple Cookies, Spiced Apple Cookies with caramel-filled chocolate chips, and my newest creation: my soft-baked version of the Coconut Macaroon (which I have also created as a cake glazed with coconut rum).

As I traveled across time zones and morning turned into afternoon and made its way toward early evening, we pulled into the parking garage of the Westin Harbour Island Hotel.  A lovely hotel situated against the sparkling waters of the Bay.  The view from our room was a picture of boats nestled against their docks as they rocked gently with the lullaby of the water and as the sunset painted its reflection in sparkling diamonds of orange and yellow.

I called Candida and announced my arrival and was again behind the wheel of my car.  I think my Camry thought I was kidding as I started her up, but she nevertheless obliged me this final leg of my arrival trip.  My trusty GPS tuned to my sister’s address, I drove the short distance to her home with much happy anticipation.

Upon arrival, I texted my sister letting her know I was there and she came out to meet me.  Candida is beautiful! There’s no other way to describe her. Bright, intelligent blue eyes, sleek straight dark hair, brilliant smile, kind voice, and sisterly arms which took me into a hug that felt like the kind of home sisters share. I was hugging someone my spirit has known all my life. And, if the trip had ended there, it still would have been the best trip I’ve ever taken.

Instead, she invited me inside and I tugged the sack of tins of cookies with me. My trip had just begun. After making sure she knew which cookies were in which tins, we took a moment to take a few selfies and to appreciate the glorious decor of her home. She shared her pictures and her eclectic collection of folklore figures and her space and her time and I couldn’t have been more grateful. And I would have driven around the world to be there. We spent a few hours talking about stories, about her world, about mine, about writing, and about family. We have so much in common that bridges our sisterhood and just enough that separates us to help each other learn.

Candida’s genuine presence is rare and wonderful. Her spirit meets you first, embraces you, and the care, honor, and respect with which she treats you is like looking up at the sky and noticing a brand new star. Wondrous, wonderful, comforting, and undeniably beautiful. I’ve met a rare person, indeed, and I’m so grateful I can call her my sister. I’m so grateful that Richard Armitage joined Twitter. To never have met Candida Orta would have been a travesty.

Thank you, Richard, for being worthy of this amazing fandom. I don’t think you know how wonderful you are and how much you are appreciated, but you can trust me when I say that I’ll always be thankful for that moment when Galdalf opened Bilbo’s door and I became your fan.

Thank you, Candi, for making that journey worth every step. I look forward to seeing you again in April, my beautiful sister! And I look forward to meeting all of my beautiful sisters soon.

Love and Hugs!

Buffy 🙂

5 responses to “A Meeting of Angels

  1. Tessa says:

    This is just beautiful…Wouldn’t it be great for a whole bunch of us to meet up somewhere? “Richard’s Ladies”? I’ve met so many wonderful people all over the world because of this sweet man…Love the pictures by the way…..Big hugs to you both…..

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Teuchter says:

    What a wonderful time you had! Thank you for sharing it with us. I’ve always wished for a meeting like that! After all these years (at least 10) of being a well-wisher I have yet to meet a “sister” in person. But I have done – and still do – the next best thing….I Skype with a wonderful “sister” in Australia. We met through Richard and it is so much fun. Other “sisters” I know via email etc but it’s like being part of a family. I am an only child so this is very special for me even though I’m a Mother, Grandmother and Great-grandmother!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My dear sweet Buffy, I don’t know what to say and I totally overwhelmed with your wonderful sweet and honorable words, the pleasure and the honor was mine to finally meet you we have so much in common and you’re right just enough differences to learn from each other . You’re absolutely gorgeous physically spiritually your presence is totally awesome, I don’t know what else more to say I love you dearly and will always have your back I will always be there for you I am so proud to call you my sister and I wished you thank Richard Armitage for bringing us together . Cannot wait to see you again in April, it’s going to be fantastic I know it. With all my love respect and honor to you my dear sweet sister you’re always in my heart and part of my soul, you love you love you love you. Philámayaye– Thank you for being you, never never change and you my friend and sister are the brightest star there is.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My dear sweet Buffy, I just don’t know what to say. Your words are absolutely wonderful and you my friend and sister are gorgeous both inside and out I think you are the brightest star in the sky. Meeting you was a privilege and honor and was totally awesome I don’t know what else to say you’re intelligent you’re gorgeous inside and out, it was the best thing to happen to me in a long time can’t wait to see you in April. And you’re right you and I had a great deal in common but just enough difference to learn from each other and that’s what life is all about it’s a learning experience. I wish to thank Richard Armitage for bringing us all together , If it wasn’t for him none of us would’ve ever met. stay the awesome wonderful gorgeous woman that you are never change, I love you just away you are my sweet sweet sister. Love you very very much. Philámayaye — thank you for driving all that way just to come and see me I am extremely and forever grateful. Love you very very very much

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

