The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

My Favorite Thing

on January 4, 2016

For my Christmas and New Years’ vacation, I treated myself to a Richard Armitage marathon. Every single movie and TV series he’s been in that I’ve been able to get my hands on played across my TV, my Nook, my laptop, and my PC. I’ve enjoyed every second, but it also caused me to plunge head first into a conundrum. Just what is it about this man that draws me in so irrevocably?

I started writing all his attributes down. When I got to 100, I stopped. My hand was hurting and I was nowhere close to finishing. I took a wild guess and concluded there were about a zillion things awesome about him. So, I took some time to seriously consider what my favorite thing was about him.

I won’t write the hundred attributes on my list, but the first five things I wrote down were (1) TALENTED (2) CONSIDERATE (3) KIND (4) INTELLIGENT and (5) TRUSTS ME TO GET HIM.

The first item on the list is a given. Richard is a very gifted actor, singer, narrator, etc. etc. etc. I’m certainly drawn in by his talent, but (I had to wonder) was his talent enough to keep me so engaged? As a fan, absolutely! I love his work. As a woman, <shoulder shrug>.??? That’s the real question.

Numbers 2 and 3 go hand-in-hand. His kindness toward and consideration of others is very engaging. I find it a rare thing indeed to encounter someone, especially someone of his status, who has not succumbed to being egotistical, haughty, or just plain better-than-thou. He’s refreshing. He’s inspiring. I appreciate who Richard is and as a fan, I am relieved to know he’s so grounded. As someone who’s met numerous celebrities, I can say the experience hasn’t always been positive.

Numbers 4 and 5 are related as well. His intelligence is very attractive. I love a smart man. Then I started thinking about how he puts little clues out to notify us of his next projects. Looking back on his tweets, I haven’t seen one where he just came out and said, “I’m working on…next.” It’s a selfie with a book, notes he’s taking to clue us in to the character, quotes from his next Audible read, etc. etc. Other times, it’s just his humor and personality in the tweet; witty, but still keeping close to himself. He doesn’t feel the need to come back with detailed explanations. He trusts his fans are intelligent and will figure it out; will “get” him.

Then, it hit me! That’s my favorite thing! He trusts me to be intelligent! Of all the things that can make this woman feel appreciated, the best thing is a man who trusts that I’m smart. It’s a feeling that taps into all the other positive things about him. By trusting me to be smart, he makes me feel smart. And, I am. But the fact that he makes me feel it is what draws me in so irrevocably! The feeling is addictive, exciting, and refreshing. It’s kind and considerate. It’s grounding and humble in its intelligence. And while it doesn’t take a vast store of talent to be a decent human being, his talent is nevertheless the best I’ve seen in a single person.

It’s one thing to be smart, even to know the depth of my intelligence, but to encounter someone who, just by being himself and offering trust, makes me feel smart…well, that’s a special, awesome person who, in turn, earns my trust, my respect, and my humble and appreciative thanks. At the end of the day, it isn’t about how he makes me feel about him, it’s about how he makes me feel about myself. Thanks, Richard!😊

One response to “My Favorite Thing

  1. Teuchter says:

    I love this! I think you totally hit the nail on the head and have to agree that this is one the most potent reasons for being drawn to him I have puzzled for years over this and could never come up with a satisfactory conclusion and now you have given me this!! Amazing and oh so true! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

