The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Dear Richard…

on February 5, 2016

Dear Richard,

Three years is but the blink of an eye in the scheme of things.  Not even a second would tick upon the great clock of eternity to represent it. And, yet, to me, this single print of time has been the most wonderful and rewarding of my life. It started with you under a mountain of hair extensions and prosthetics and a quarter turn of your head and that expression on your face. And, now, here I am with people in my life I would never have met if not for that single moment.

I attribute much to that moment because I pulled out a chair for you at my fandom table and asked you to stay.  You were the first person I’d pulled out a chair for in quite a long time and I did it even before my initial impressions of Thorin were settled in my heart. Once settled, you inspired me to love him completely and I will never be the same. Your performance as Thorin led me to your other work, and your other fans.

The kind members of your fandom have become a part of my life and the connection we share beyond the initial common thread of you has opened my eyes and heart to the whole world.  I have never known a fandom such as yours. Your fandom is more than just a group of your fans; we are a community, we are family.  We care about you. And we care about each other. I treasure each of them who have connected with me. I am honored to be among them and I thank them for allowing me to be a part of this magnificent journey.  Every journey starts with a single step. Each step marked by an inspiring moment that moves us out of where we are and on to where we are going. Dear Richard, I will always be grateful for that inspiring moment I became your fan.

With true sincerity and appreciation,

Buffy M. Brinkley

  

5 responses to “Dear Richard…

  1. gpg442014 says:

    wow thats so beautiful am sure he would be so humbled and absolutly made up to read this x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is truly beautiful Buffy, in that he brought me to tears and it’s because of him that you and I are the sisters that we are in the BFFs. You couldn’t of said it better. I don’t know what else to say but bravo and I love you little sister always and forever

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol Megson says:

    As always, sweet, you speak for us all!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

