The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Becoming TiTi Buffy (Aunt Buffy)

on April 24, 2016

Family is very important to me. I don’t think there is anything in my life I value more. And, when a friend becomes family, the experience is that much more special because I believe that close friends are family we get to choose.

To say that Candida Orta and I were instant sisters is an understatement. Our differences lie in culture and region of birth, but we bridged these easily with our common interests, our sense of honor, respect, and values. These last are virtually identical. And, where these slightly deviate on certain topics, our open-mindedness and mutual respect allows us to keep our sisterhood strong. So strong, in fact, that we are closer in relationship to each other than we are to some of our own blood relatives. It’s both intriguing and hilarious how we think alike, finish each other’s sentences, and know just when we need to call each other. We are sisters. 

When Candida welcomed me into her family, I became a sister-in-law to her husband; an aunt to her daughter and to her grandchildren. I was, and continue to be, honored and blessed. I welcomed her to my family as well and our tight-knit family has enough heart to runneth over every cup of joy we encounter.

But that doesn’t mean we don’t need help sometimes. Candida’s granddaughter, Iviana, is the sweetest, most beautiful child I’ve ever known. And, she is in imminent danger. Her biological father has petitioned the court for joint custody. This man must never ever be allowed to see this child again. He is a criminal, a gang member, and an abuser. He beat and abused Candida’s daughter and then he beat and shook Iviana so severely, Iviana ended up in the emergency room with a hematoma on the side of her face and a fractured occipital suture. She could have died. In court, Iviana’s mother, Chani, was granted sole custody.

Recently, Iviana’s mother, Chani, married her long-time boyfriend. This is the reason we believe this man has petitioned the court. We also believe that he did this to hurt Chani. Furthermore, it is our greatest feeling and fear that he will kill Iviana to hurt Chani. He wants Chani in his life and is spiteful that she’s gotten married. We do not doubt he is capable of any evil one might imagine.

We have banded together and started a fundraiser to hire the attorney needed to present the case properly and to ensure this man is never given access to Iviana.

We give thanks and our utmost appreciation to everyone who has donated, retweeted our fundraiser links, and prayed for our family.  Because of your support, we have been able to secure the attorney’s services with a down payment. We are very close to our goal and need just $750 more to ensure Iviana’s safety. If you can donate, please follow this link: Help Us Save Iviana. Will you also retweet/reblog this message? Thank you! Your assistance and prayers are appreciated more than we could ever express.

This is the life that is at stake:

(Iviana with Richard the Dragon. I gave her this dragon last year. I’m so happy Richard found a happy home and is so loved.)

(Iviana with her big brother, Gio, and her baby brother, Thaddeus)

(Iviana waiting for her baby brother to be born)
Please do all you can to help us save this precious child. Thank you. God bless you!

3 responses to “Becoming TiTi Buffy (Aunt Buffy)

  1. I am speechless, totally speechless that you would do this for us you are a true sister and I will love you forever and always. I just don’t know what to say I am in total amazement and literally crying right now, I could never repay you but if you for what you’ve done for me and my family and you are my family and that will always be. Love you love you so much more than I could ever ever say, and I could never repay you enough for this. You have my highest and upmost respect and honor I could give anyone❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  2. Maxine Vurley says:

    Love your blog Buffy, you are one amazing Sister, together we have done everything possible to help our beautiful Sister Candi ensure the safety of our gorgeous little niece Iviana. I’ve never before known a group of strangers become as close if not closer than a blood related sisters as we all have. Thank you for choosing me as one of your Sisters. Love Maxine ❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

