The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

The Way I See It

on June 13, 2016

THE WAY I SEE IT

Looking at the world from far away; seeing it all at once; taking photographs with my mind, so that I may remember the moment. Taking a chance with something never tried; hoping to succeed so that others may follow. Doing the impossible, or what was once thought of as impossible.  Accomplishing futuristic things–in the present; finding out the meaning of life; going forward much too fast, but still waiting for society to catch up. Taking chances with the unusual; making it more modern in the eyes of others; speaking its language so that it may understand mine. Seize the moment! For it could be the only one that comes down your path of life.

I wrote this when I was 15 years old. I was a sophomore in high school, sitting at my desk, looking out the window, and reflecting on my assignment: how could we make society better than it was? It occurred to me that for society to be better, it had to collectively strive for goodness and that there must be those in leadership around the world who would be willing to push the envelope for the good of humankind. Unfortunately, such leadership has never been realized.

As I grew up, moved from high school to college to being a productive member of my immediate society, the words I wrote in that long-ago classroom stay with me. And, that assignment, I feel, has never really been completed. We are all a work in progress; mountains of clay that we either allow the people around us to shape or that we choose to shape for ourselves. Whether you are a leader or a follower is irrelevant, but you must be cognizant enough to ensure that whichever direction you choose, you receive your share of empathy, sympathy, wisdom, courage, forgiveness and love, and that which you sew within your heart to reap the rewards of a beautiful life. And, at the same time, you filter your share of intolerance, impatience, fear, and hatred so that you receive these in manageable doses which have their place and their time, but that which should never take seed in your heart.

No one person is capable of changing society on his own. Alone we can inspire and aspire, but it will take all of us–and I mean the human race–to make the changes necessary.  We cannot wait for others to act. Those who wait will always be waiting, as I’ve come to learn. The first step must start somewhere.  So why not here? Why not now? Reach into your heart and weed out the strangling vines of intolerance, impatience, fear, and hatred.  Water the garden of your life to grow up a heart full of love and empathy and wisdom and courage and forgiveness. I’m sending out a worldwide “I LOVE YOU” because I do love my fellow human beings and I have hope that we can make this world a better place.  HOPE: It’s the face of the flowers in the garden of my heart. LOVE is the universal language for which there needs no translation (Speaking its language, so that it may understand mine).

~Buffy M. Brinkley, June 13, 2016, 11:30 a.m. CST

 

Leave a Reply

