The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Dear Richard…

on June 15, 2016

Dear Richard,

Someday, you will be sitting in a quiet place and your phone will indicate a notification from Twitter. And, it will be a tweet from one of your trolls, delusional admirers, harassers, or stalkers spouting whatever poison or obsession is prevalent for the day.

And, you will have had enough.  You will click on the settings button on your Twitter account.  And you and Stephen Fry will have a pint at the nearest pub.

I hope that moment never comes. But, should the occasion arise for you to make the final “stay or go” decision, please know this:

The fandom I know has nothing at all in common with the trolls, the delusional admirers, the harassers, or the stalkers. The fandom I know and that I praised several months ago is filled with delightful people who celebrate you for being the kind and wonderful human being you are and genuinely appreciate your work, your talent, and the privilege of tweeting with you.  The fandom I know is filled with respectful and grateful people of all ages, races, religions, and cultures. You are the bridge that brought us all together.  You were our initial common bond and, beyond you, we discovered that we had much more in common.  In this part of your fandom, the whole world is united. We’re just people–all of us–who love you, and discovered that we love each other, too.

You have made a tremendous difference in our lives. Because of you, most of us have become lifelong friends.  We wake up each morning so thankful for each other. I log on to the Armitage Archangels and, together, we celebrate you and your work.  It never gets old because you are always worthy of being celebrated.  You bring immense joy to our lives and, for some of us, that moment of celebration is what gets us through the day. We have built a beautiful support system for each other and without you, that system would never have existed. There are some days, I reflect back and I honestly don’t know what we would have done without you. You have always been a shining example of patience, caring, empathy, tolerance, and acceptance. The world certainly looks more beautiful through your eyes. Thank you, Richard, for sharing your spectacular view.

With wholehearted appreciation,

Buffy Brinkley and the Armitage Archangels

8 responses to “Dear Richard…

  1. Carol Megson says:

    Thank you, thank you, Buffy! You say it for all of us!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tessa says:

    So well said…The many people I have met all over the world is made possible by our common bond, YOU, Richard Armitage…..Those that choose to insult, condemn, antagonize, and be down right mean are not “your fandom, please do not let them force your hand to delete your most thoughtful and beautiful, if not slightly teasing posts………….. Big hugs

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Maria Day says:

    Thank you Buffy for your wonderful message. I have been so hurt by the terrible behavior of some of the fans today.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Meant to that little sister I could not agree more and as always very well put class honesty and honor. If it wasn’t for him none of us would’ve met and I will be forever grateful to him I have for best sisters in the world and I love you all with all my heart for you know who you are and I was always support, Protect and defend our beliefs as part of the Armitage archangels rock on sister

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Teuchter says:

    Oh Buffy! Thank you so much for voicing the thoughts of those of us who are proud to be part of the true fandom. I just wanted to yell AMEN!!!! when I read your beautiful words. If I’d had the ability to put into words what I feel about him – these are the words. I *so* wish he could read them for himself so he could grasp, even is some small way, just how much he is loved and appreciated. I would be a different person today if I had not come to know some wonderful people because of him.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I fully agree with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. gpg442014 says:

    beautifuly put ,i thankgod every day ,we are the majority who only want the best for such a gentlman ,well said sister xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

