The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Grace Under Fire

on July 24, 2016

It feels great to be excited about something. The anticipation. The buildup. The fireworks of the actual moment.  The memories that settle on heart and mind in the aftermath. The campfire stories to be told.

When I entered Richard Armitage’s fandom, I was very excited. I was, by all accounts, new to social media and its uses, and, like a true novice, I set forth on this journey.  I am thrilled to have made acquaintances and friends, and I am grateful beyond measure to have met those I consider my sisters. I have also been disappointed, brokenhearted, and genuinely hurt by things people have tweeted to me, about me, to and about each other, and to and about Mr. Armitage himself. My emotions have led me to react when silence was best.

Recently, a good friend of mine made the decision to abandon social media altogether. She and I are very empathetic people and tend to take on battles we don’t necessarily need to fight. The battle scars aren’t ours to earn. And, although she had (and still has) my full support as her friend, she knew I didn’t agree with everything she had to say or how she went about saying it. She was, and still is, okay with that. She and I will still be friends tomorrow.

I have learned lessons the hard way, but that’s life. I have learned Block and Mute. I have learned that not everyone who comes into my life should stay in it or be in it in the first place. Some I’ve let go easier than others. We come together to admire Richard Armitage in our own ways and we share enough of a common bond in how we admire him to be able to go about it in the same forum and within the same fandoms. But that could change at any moment. People could take offense and abandon ship and that will be that.  At the same time, I could take offense and abandon ship. We could find ourselves blocked and muted by the other within the blink of an eye. And, that’s okay. And, it’s not the end of the world.

Being a fan of Richard Armitage, celebrating him every day, and being excited over his work is but a small part of my life, but it is a part that is important to me. There are people in my life who I dearly love, who I would never have met if I had not become a fan. I will always be grateful.  And, for that moment of fireworks, I will always want to celebrate him. I will always want to tell that beautiful campfire story.

To me, Mr. Armitage is an example of grace under fire. He may not always want to be a gentleman, but he manages to do so both in his social media posts and his everyday life. Stories from fans all around the world are a testament of the kind and beautiful person he is. To me, he is an example of how attitude, empathy, and kindness can and should be used to embrace the world around us in love instead of pushing it away in fear.

To me, he carries all his breathtaking qualities like a basket of bread he uses to nourish those around him. He gives away his smile with humor and with sincerity; his charming personality with honesty; and his point of view with humility. To me, he is a wonderful human being.  A person worth all the time and effort I put into those celebrations. I have tried to follow his example to the best of my ability because I think his an example worth following. I ask no one else to agree with me.

Tomorrow ends my week-long break from social media. I will resume my celebration of Mr. Armitage on my Armitage Archangels fan site with renewed excitement. I celebrate Mr. Armitage because I want to, because I am grateful for all of the fireworks moments I’ve experienced so far, and because I look forward to all the others yet to come. I invite anyone who wants to celebrate with me to join me.

Furthermore, I ask no one else to be what I consider respectful, kind, or considerate.  Be whatever you want, say whatever you want. By Mr. Armitage’s example, everything is valid.  So be it. Know that there will be people who will want to cling on to you, and there will be people who will abandon your ship both in silence and in outrageous vociferousness. Just don’t be surprised when it happens. I won’t be surprised, either. I will simply do my best to show grace under fire. It’s all any of us can really do. 🙂

 

2 responses to “Grace Under Fire

  1. Brenda Kay Herndon says:

    Love you Buffy thank you for expressing what a lot of us feel but don’t quite know how to put it into words. I too have made wonderful friends all over the globe because of the passion for Richard Armitage. Thank you again.
    Brenda Kay Herndon

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post, and count me in to continue celebrating our Mr. Armitage and his work ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

