The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Ebby-Lou Makes Her Journey

on November 16, 2016

My beautiful kitty, Ebony Louise, who I always affectionately called Ebby-Lou, went on her journey today. My mother gave her to me as a surprise.  At first, I wasn’t sure I wanted a kitten, but it only took Ebby a day to put herself firmly within my love and caring.

She was my baby. I may as well have given birth to her. And, for the last fourteen and a half years, she greeted me at the door with a soft meow of hello and a sweet nuzzle to welcome me home. She loved me unconditionally. That’s the very special thing about animals. They love without hesitation or agenda. And all they want is to be loved in return. And, I loved her with all my heart.

For the past week, she’s been less herself. And this morning, she was very lethargic.  I made an appointment to see the vet and the kind folks at Comite Drive Animal Hospital found an opening for me. Compassionate beyond words, the kind veterinarian and his nurse examined my baby to make the determination that it was best to send her on her journey.

While I am sad that her sweet face and voice will not greet me tomorrow morning or this evening when I return home, I am so very grateful for the wonderful years she spent with me. She never failed to be the shoulder or the listening ear or the movie buddy. She lit up every single corner of our house and her spirit will continue to do so through loving memory.

So thank you, Ebby-Lou! Thank you for being my kitty. Thank you for loving me and letting me be your Mom. I could not be more grateful or happy that you decided to keep me.

3 responses to “Ebby-Lou Makes Her Journey

  1. jholland says:

    I’m so very sorry, Buffy. (((Hugs))).

    Like

  2. Andrea Númellóte says:

    I am so sorry 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

