The Wandering Poet

Buffy Brinkley on the Things that Inspire my Life, my Pen, and my Heart.

Feeling Very Inspired!

on October 4, 2017

Image result for feeling inspired

It’s my birthday. It’s an ordinary day.

My family asked what I wanted to do for my birthday.  I’m way too old for parties. I’m way too young to do nothing. So, I took to Pinterest, Twitter, and Facebook for inspiration.  What did I want to do? On Twitter, I came across a series of tweets I sent out on August 22 of this year.  It was Richard Armitage’s birthday and, on behalf of my twitter group, I donated to his charities as a birthday gift to him. Mr. A is always bringing attention to organizations and people who need help (and he’s always stated that he’d much rather a few coins go into the till to help those in need rather than receive gifts himself). And, I thought: that’s what I will do.  I will celebrate my birthday by giving to his and other charities I support. Thanks for the inspiration, Richard! As always!

I wrote the charities I support down on individual strips of paper, folded them and dropped them into a hat.  I drew three: Cybersmile Foundation, Young Minds, and St. Jude. I gave in an amount related to my age, but the amount wasn’t the point. The point was to give, and on a day that anyone would expect me to expect to receive. It feels good and if I could do this everyday, I would.

I am not asking that anyone click on the links I’ve advertised on my Twitter and Facebook accounts and give. That’s not my place.  But, I encourage you to check out these organizations and see for yourself the wonderful work they do. Maybe, on your birthday, you’ll want to celebrate the same way.

My thought for the day: There is nothing that will make you feel as good, as fast, as helping someone else.

This is true. My modest contributions to these three organizations today will not likely change the world.  Or, maybe it will. Maybe, for one day, I can be as inspirational to all of you as Richard Armitage and these organizations are to me. In that thought, I feel blessed to have been born on this day.

With love, Buffy

4 responses to “Feeling Very Inspired!

  1. Tessa says:

    Happy Birthday ! I hope you have a nice day……..

    Like

  2. Teuchter says:

    Happy Birthday!! Such a great idea. It’s quite possible you have inspired others to do the same on their birthdays! I hope your day is truly special.

    Like

Leave a Reply

